European prostitute

Since 01.05.2004 ten further states have joined the European Union (EU). These are Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Malta and Cyprus Since 01.01.2007 Bulgaria and Romania have also been members.

All nationals of the European Union enjoy so-called freedom to provide services, i.e. they can work in prostitution as self-employed people in all EU states.

EU citizens do not require a work permit according to the Residency Law. They are merely obliged to register with the local authorities. EU citizens are issued with a certificate concerning their right to freedom of movement, a so-called freedom of movement certificate.

Nationals from the new EU states, except those from Malta and Cyprus, are not yet permitted to enter into employment contracts as other EU nationals are.